Skip to main content

Elon Musk Set to Reveal A Breaking SpaceX Announcement

This year has already been a rather epic one for SpaceX and Elon Musk, and it’s only February. Just last week, we saw the Falcon 9’s third successful landing on solid ground, a landing which took place alongside SpaceX’s first commercial rocket launch from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center.

The significance of these reusable rocket landings cannot be overstated.





Successfully reusing boosters is a critical part of bringing down the cost of launches, as we won’t have to build a completely new rocket for every single mission. According to SpaceX president Gwynne Shotwell, reusability is expected to lower the cost of launches by a staggering 30 percent.

This would allow for more frequent launches and, as a result, faster progress in both commercial spaceflight and our off-world research and exploration. But it seems that Elon Musk has something else up his sleeve.
“SpaceX announcement coming at 1 p.m. PST,” Musk wrote on Twitter yesterday. If you need some translation, that means that the reveal is set for 4 p.m. EST (2100 GMT).

Unfortunately, SpaceX representatives won’t say anything more than simply “stay tuned.” As a result, speculation abounds. Do they have an update on their mission to get humans Mars? News about the development of the Falcon Heavy rocket? Are they launching a new kind of program? Do they have a new major contract?

We will have to wait until this afternoon to see.

Comments

MUST READS

Impossible Physics: Meet NASA’s Design For Warp Drive Ship

4th Dimension Discovery Shocks Scientists Around The World

NASA Admits Alcubierre Drive Initiative: Faster Than The Speed Of Light

Hyper-dense Pulsar May Nix Einstein's Theory of Gravity- New NRAO Discovery

Cassini Just Sent Back Images From Its First-Ever Dive Through Saturn's Rings, And They're Incredible